The Budget Goes Out the Window

Remember back in 2008 when we started building my 1995 Eagle Talon I labeled it as a “budget build?” Well, three years later the budget build has seriously gone out the window 🙂 It started last year when I finally dipped into a 10 second 1/4 mile. (I ended the season with a 10.6 ET)

Running quicker than an 11.5 ET on an IHRA track requires you to have a roll bar. We knew we were going to push the car as far as we could so we opted to have a full cage installed. If you know anything about cages, then you  know they aren’t cheap. That is where the budget build started to go astray.

We’re now in the beginning of 2011. We’ve done a TON of upgrades this winter, a good portion of them are still underway.  Mr. Barrett has been trying to convince me to buy a dogbox for my car for about a year now.  He was running the PTE 6262 last year and netted himself a 9.5 at 142 mph. Well, I couldn’t resist the temptation when I came across one on a message board I’m on. This purchase officially kills the budge build! But really, when you watch cockpit videos like this from the drag strip; it’s hard to curb the temptation!

About this entry