If I Didn’t Have Bad Luck, I’d Have No Luck at All

Going back a few weeks to May 6th, I had a camera crew come out and film me for an “I am a Mormon” video. Surprised that I am a Mormon? Yeah, me too, but that’s a whole other blog post. Anyway, after a day of filming at home, they followed us to Rocky Mountain Raceway. First run was a bust, can’t exactly explain why. Second run I got all setup with in car cameras. Launch sucked, again – unsure what happened – slamming gears didn’t go well, then fourth went in and stuck. Limped down the return lane and pulled over. I was finally able to get the car out of gear, but knew the damage was already done.

This is what we found the next day.

Originally only the 5th gear synco was busted, but the gear ended up being demolished to get it off. Well, that sucked, but was an easy fix.

PS. The inside of a dogbox is pretty amazing.

Got the new syncro put in and took her around the block. 1st, 2nd, 3rd . . . and stuck. After a bit of coaxing, got it back into 2nd and BAM! Screeching halt, car dies. Tried to crank it once and then gave up. Luckily, I was only a few hundred feet from my driveway so we grabbed the truck a towed it back.

Let us take a moment to reflect on the fact that I was only going 20mph and a few hundred feet from my house. Most drag cars go out with a much better showing. 40psi, blazing a 9 second pass. Nah, not me.

Back to the story – We ended up dropping the tranny that same night, pulled the tranny apart and found a roll pin broke in half. That’s what caused the tranny to freeze up. Ahh, now is the time that most folks give up. Oh, don’t get me wrong. We wanted to! Instead we put a new roll pin in and put everything back together. With fear, I started her. *Knock, knock, knock* Turned her back off, dropped the pan and saw slight signs of bearing wear. What do you think, should we give up now?

Eh, not yet. Guess we’ll take this opportunity to build the head, right? We dropped the long block off at Jensen’s on Saturday and now wait for the verdict on what will need to be replaced.

About this entry